[etoys-dev] [etoys-notify] [JIRA] Created: (SQ-1144) When exiting Etoys, you should be asked if you want to save your work
bert at freudenbergs.de
Mon Dec 24 07:27:30 EST 2012
On 2012-12-23, at 06:58, "K. K. Subramaniam" <kksubbu.ml at gmail.com> wrote:
> On Saturday 22 Dec 2012 1:21:17 AM Stephen Thomas wrote:
>> When exiting Etoys, you should be asked if you want to save your work
> Is this step really necessary? I realize it is very frustrating when someone
> presses the exit button and loses hours of work, but that is better handled by
> disabling Exit button until changes are either saved or rolled back. Why have
> an active Exit button when it is unsafe?
Because Etoys can't tell when it is safe to exit.
Playing with an Etoys project modifies it. There is no distinction between "authoring time" and "run time". We had to disable auto-save (which we had on the XO for a while) because this messes up good projects.
It is really up to the user to say when a project is in a good state to save.
We have the quit dialog there to not accidentally lose work. There used to be a "save" option in there, but what if you have more than one project that needs saving? The user might assume all projects she made get saved. But it was only the current one. So we removed all magic, and the user can feel confident that the project gets saved if, and only if, she presses the save button.
We might revisit automatic saving, but this will only work if there is a simple and perfect versioning mechanism. Auto-saving is great only if you can get at previous versions easily. Ours was imperfect so for the time being, explicit saving is the better trade off.
- Bert -
More information about the etoys-dev